Pirate Blog — Toa Samoa

Tracking my Peace Corps Adventures in Western Samoa

Prolonging the Magic

Posted by Igor Popstefanija on September 3, 2010

Havn’t posted in a while, so here goes. School had been really busy, but now I am on break and I’m getting a little time to relax. I’m in the final strech of my peace corps experience. Next week is our Close of Service conference, which will hopefully prepare us for after peace corps. Not only that but now is the time that group 80 leaves Samoa, which has has left me with a very nastolgic feeling as I am beginning to fully grasp that I must finally get on with my life.

First let me talk about dates. Dec. 15 is my offical close of service date. Some volunteers are applying to leave Samoa during november, but I couldn’t possibly leave before my school’s Prizegiving (american english: Graduation) which is on Dec. 2. I doubt I will leave Samoa before the 15th though, and will mostly likely not leave until just after the 18th. The next question is where to? I would like to travel a little before I go back home (Massachusetts), and this will include Japan and/or New Zealand. This would mean I would get back home end of Jan. or beginning of Feb.

After a vacation I think I need a little time to recharge and during this time I will consider exactly what my next move will be. I know what I want to continue travelling. I am considering getting a TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) certification, and moving to another country and teaching english there. Currently Macedonia and Argentina are the highest on my list.

Another option I am considering is to extend peace corps in another country. If this turns out to be the case I will have to return to the states in Dec. and will leave for the other country when their PST starts (probably end of Jan or beginning of Feb.) Anyway, I hope this answers some people questions. Comments are welcome.

For now however I am focusing on finishing my experience in Samoa without missing anything. I havn’t fully contemplated my “bucket list” yet but some items would include:

  • Night Diving
  • Staying on Apolima Island
  • Piula Cave Pools
  • Sua Trench
  • Learning to do a siva afi (fire dance)
  • Going to Falealupo one last time
  • Fagaloa Bay
  • Going in one of the outrigger canoes

I guess that’s enough for now, I may update the list in the future. Again welcome to any suggestions. Anyway, hope all is well.

2 Responses to “Prolonging the Magic”

  1. Hi
    Kool blog. Teaching English in Macedonia or Argentina sounds awesome.
    I came on your blog cause of the vbar photo. I work at Vbar at night and Im trying to collect some vbar photos for our Vbar facebook. Hope you dont mind me looking thru your photos. If you have anymore vbar photos, can you please email them to me if you dont mind.

    Yeah, I also like your bucket list.

    Thank you

    Pauline

    • igorpop said

      Thanks for commenting. I do have some other pictures from vbar that I could send to you, but you’re gonna have to wait til I have a faster internet connection (on the weekends) Hope to see you at vbar.

Leave a Reply

 
