Pirate Blog — Toa Samoa

Tracking my Peace Corps Adventures in Western Samoa

Technology Woes

Posted by Igor Popstefanija on March 29, 2010

This last month, I’ve been faced with many technology issues. A constant issue has been the computers in my lab that I have to do regular maintence on. More recently Samoa’s heat, humidity and general distatse for things electronic has hit me on a more person level. Upon arriving in Samoa, my computer’s screen has started showing perminant veritical lines. It is mostly an aesthetic issue, however as 80% of my computer use is to watch tv shows and movies, this is very troubling. Although the computer is still under warrenty, I don’t think sending it back to America from here is a good idea. (1. It would take forever, and 2. It would probably get “lost”/broken in the mail anyway.) Any suggestions? A new line seems to appear everytime I take the computer into Apia, so as of now, my laptop has become a desktop.

The newest issue I’ve had is with my camera. The autofocus on my camera’s lens has started malfunctioning. It hast rendered the camera unusable, however it has made taking pictures much more difficult, especially since it took me a while to figure out exactly what the problem was. Unlike the computer I imagine this is an easier issue to fix, however I wouldn’t really trust my camera to any of the local repair shops, and will probably wait until my next trip overseas.

In other news, I was finally able to go scuba diving again last weekend. We went with Aqua Samoa, which is located on my island (Upolu). They took us out to Apolima Island where we did our first dive, and then our second dive was off the coast of Manono Island. It was a lot of fun. I plan on going out to Savaii next weekend for Easter break. Okay, well thats my update for now.

Leave a Reply

 
