Pirate Blog — Toa Samoa

Tracking my Peace Corps Adventures in Western Samoa

February Miscellaneous

Posted by Igor Popstefanija on February 27, 2010

I know that its been a while since I’ve posted anything, and I am sorry. I have been very busy with school, and I don’t usually make it out to Apia until the weekends. Unfortunately none of the pictures of scuba diving I tried to develop came out well (which I am really pissed about).

School has been good. This Wednesday I brought in my guitar to my year 10 english class, and taught them “Let It Be” by the Beatles. It was a big hit. I’ve also taken three of my year 12 computer students under my wing, having them help me out in the lab. They are becoming “maska” computer (“maska” is samoan for master, one of the best compliments a sole can get).

Since October of last year, I have had a group of people living in the fale directly behind my house. They are there, constructing a house in the Malua complex, which needs to be done by May in time for the Fonotele (a big conference of the EFKS church in my village). They are usually very annoying, talking to me through the window, and waking up early and playing music. One good thing that has come of it more recently is they brought their wives along and as a result I have been the recipient of much food.

I planned to go scuba diving today as well, however the quake in Chile put those plans on hold. Samoa was under a tsunami warning but that has passed already. Last night they had a siren going from about 4 am until 6 am, it was really loud. Anyway, enjoy some random pictures.

2 Responses to “February Miscellaneous”

  1. jane reinking said

    Thanks for the update and fun pics. Glad to hear everyone survived today’s alert.

  2. Bethany said

    You can’t put a poll like that up and expect people NOT to pick “What the hell attacked your face?” just on principle.

    :) Food looks lovely. Glad things are going well there.

Leave a Reply

 
