Pirate Blog — Toa Samoa

Tracking my Peace Corps Adventures in Western Samoa

Renovations

Posted by Igor Popstefanija on October 6, 2009

So last week was a very trying week. This week things seemed to have returned to normal. School was back in session, which meant that us volunteers had to go back to our other obligations (i.e. our job!) once again. I did spend my Saturday last week volunteering with the Red Cross in the tsunami affected areas. I didn’t bring my camera so I don’t have any pictures, but if you wanna see what occurred, check out this post on matt’s blog.

So I promised to show you the renovations that have been taking place at LFC. They started with the pond area about 3 months ago. They converted the swamp that used to be there into a mosquito breeding zone. It is a kidney-shaped pond, with a faleo’o (traditional samoan fale) in the center. The pond seems to be a good idea in theory, but as of yet it is still a work in progress. They also tore down the old bus stop, and are now building a new one. I think they should have waited to tear the old one down, cos now waiting for the bus leaves me a sweaty mess.

Last month, they began renovating the school buildings themselves. The buildings are about 30 years old and falling apart, so the renovations are much needed. Also there is asbestos in the ceilings (I’ve also heard that there is asbestos in the roof of my house). This renovation has displaced the year 9 and 10 students, which are now located in the large meeting hall, library, science lab and art room. They’ve already started on the roof of the second building, so I’m hoping that the renovations will be quick. Also, I’m hoping that they will increase the size of the computer lab, when they get to my building, and including an air conditioner in the deal. Pictures below:

Leave a Reply

 
