Pirate Blog — Toa Samoa

Tracking my Peace Corps Adventures in Western Samoa

Pictures from the 4th of July

Posted by Igor Popstefanija on July 11, 2009

I know its been a long time since I’ve posted, but my mobility has been decreased because of a painful boil thats developed on my foot. A boil is an infection at the base of a hair follicle. The body sections the infected area away from the rest of the body and it continues to grow until it burts (or you pop it). My father told me not to put a picture of it up, but I thought the graphic description would be enough. Being on my foot its really painful to walk. I was given antibiotics pretty early on, so hopefully my body can kick the boils ass before it starts pussing. Its already much better and I think my guys are winning.

Anyway, I know that its been a week since the 4th, but I would have posted this earlier had I been able to get to Apia. I think that all Peace Corps would agree that it was a great time. The festivities were held at the Robert Louis Stevenson Museum. There was a US Navy boat that was in town as well, and it was decieded that we would have a friendly softball game between Peace Corps and the Navy. Not to gloat too much, but we kicked their butts 14-4! I even got an run and an RBI.

Following the game we were treated to a BBQ dinner that included hot dogs, fuly cooked chicken and beans without tomato sauce*. Both the Prime Minister and the Samoan Head of State were there. Then streamers were handed out (unfortunately fireworks are not allowed in Samoa). A good time was had by all. Enjoy the pictures:

*This has been a real problem for me, as all the canned beans I’ve bought here has always been in tomato sauce. I even found this can that claimed to be “Boston Baked Beans” and it was also in tomato sauce.  Being from the Bay State, that made me very angry.

3 Responses to “Pictures from the 4th of July”

  1. Sara said

    Koa, my mom cannot comment on your blog and asked me about it, so I am testing it out.

    Sara

  2. Barb said

    Okay, Sara showed me how dumb I am. I could not figure out what to write in the website box, and I swear I tried to leave a comment awhile ago, and I left it blank, and the comment didn’t go through. She tells me I can just leave it blank, so here goes.

  3. Barb said

    Well, poo….my computer just went funny, and boom, the comment was up, and I didn’t even have a chance to write anything but the prelude. So, all this verbage, and all I wanted to say is I hope your boils are all gone, and they don’t multiply like Tribbles (Star Trek reference, likely before your time). Sara had a host of them for awhile last year, not something anyone would ever wish on anyone. I like reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

 
