Pirate Blog — Toa Samoa

Tracking my Peace Corps Adventures in Western Samoa

Photo Tour – Beach Road, Apia

Posted by Igor Popstefanija on April 30, 2009

Apia Harbor, the building with the dome is the Government Building

Following my Mother’s suggestion, I’ll take you guys on a tour of Apia. This follows my path from the Peace Corps Office to CV, the cafe where I usually go to in order to get the fast lavaspot internet connection.  Beach Road is the main  street in Apia, it runs along the coastline, with a seawall on its oceanside. So I’ll go into detail of a couple of locations that need further explanation, and you can see all of them in the gallery at the end of the post.

On the Rocks

This is On the Rocks or “OTR” where most Peace Corps come to play on weekends. It has cold vailima, the local brew, and a rather eclectic music selection. The music is the major draw for me, as its a good break from “bus music.” Bus music is what is played on the buses, and tends to be the same 10 songs over and over, all of them some form of pop/reggae/dance. OTR on the other hand will play American music, including classics by Journey or Toto (“Africa” is a Peace Corps favorite).

Palagi Row

We call this stretch of pedestrian street “Palagi Row.” Palagi (pronouced palangi) is the Samoan word for white people, like me. Palagi row is where tourists and expats tend to congregate. It is also where Cappocino Vinyard’s, or CV, is located. CV is my main stop in Apia. Although the Peace Corps office has free internet, it doesn’t have a fast enough connect to download or upload large files, like pictures.

This part of Apia is the more touristy part. I think in the future I’ll take you around the other parts of Apia, like the markets. I’ll also take you around the village where I work. Let me know how you like this “photo tour” and I’ll post more in the future.

5 Responses to “Photo Tour – Beach Road, Apia”

  1. Rebecca said

    awesome! more photo tours, please!

  2. mama said

    nice tour, looking forward for more…..it is like a visit preveiw.

  3. Chad said

    Nice photos man.. Gorgeous scenery…

  4. derek grindlay said

    great photo tour of beach rd looking foward for more keep up the good work

  5. Bartolome said

    You could surely see your abilities within the paintings you are submitting. The planet desires of far more fervent freelancers just like you exactly who usually are not fearful to cover where did they believe that. Always stick to the cardiovascular system.

Leave a Reply

 
