Pirate Blog — Toa Samoa

Tracking my Peace Corps Adventures in Western Samoa

The doldrums

Posted by Igor Popstefanija on April 18, 2009

I know that in the past, I’ve gotten complaints about not posting to my blog. I had plans that I would try to post every week, or maybe every other week. The problem is that I really don’t have that many new things to post about. I don’t really feel like giving out cultral explroations of the millieu that is Samoa. Instead this blog is more to update friends and family of my current status, and a place to post pictures. If you want the cultural millieu, check out Matt’s blog, I doubt I can do a better job, and at this point it would be redundant.

School has been like the doldrums of my Peace Corps experience. Its not that I don’t take my job seriously, or that I am bored, more that there is not much to report. I go to school, I go home, I prepare for my next day at school. On the weekends I do a number of things, go to Apia or the host village, or more recently, I’ve been teaching class on Saturdays at the request of my students ( I think they prefer school to doing chores for their family).

Because of all this, the months of March and April have been nearly the same. There have been more Rugby and Netball games, yada yada yada. Putting up more pictures of rugby games would probably not generate too many hits for my site. As a result I don’t have too many (read: any) new pictures to post (hence the long article with no pictures).

I think that May will finally kick me out of this funk that I have been feeling lately. School will take a month long break, during which my parents will be coming to visit. I am looking forward to seeing them very much. Also in May will be the Early Serivce Training, where all of the members of group 81 will come together again since disbanding after training. It will be nice to have us all back together again. Anyway, I hope that every had a great easter!

2 Responses to “The doldrums”

  1. Rebecca said

    boo, write more.

  2. Chad said

    ……………………………………

Leave a Reply

 
