Pirate Blog — Toa Samoa

Tracking my Peace Corps Adventures in Western Samoa

Transition

Posted by Igor Popstefanija on January 7, 2009

So I’m a full blooded volunteer now, have been for almost a month now. What have I been up to in the time being? Well to be honest, a whole lot of nothing. For one thing the period between Christmas and New Years in Samoa is an extended holiday, but also seeing as I will be teaching as my primary objective, and school doesn’t start until February, there will be a lot of downtime in the next couple of weeks. I’d like to refer to it as a transitional period. I wouldn’t call myself bored though, I’ve been able to keep busy for the most part. I’ve been able to travel around Samoa a bit. I spent Christmas in the training village with my Samoan family, and New Year’s on Samoa’s other, less populated island, Savai’i (See pictures below).

The new house has been a choir and a half as well. First off there is the animal problem. There are many bugs in Samoa, ants and beetles being the least of my concern but the most numerous. Centipedes are a different story altogether. Twice at night I have been woken by centipedes, which think that crawling on me while I sleep is a good idea. Thanks to my trusty can of bug poison, they did not live to see another day. Rats were also a concern of mine, I had at least one living in my roof, and coming down at night for food. The strange thing about rats is for some reason they love eating soap. Go figure. They also love eating poison and are no more. I think at this point in time the infestation is under control.

As for the rest of my time, I’ve been watching movies and tv shows on my laptop (no tv), reading (I finished No Logo by Noami Klein, The Guns of August by Barbra Truchman, and am currently on The Thrid Chimpanzee by Jared Diamond) and the occasional video game (okay, maybe more than occasionally).

Yesterday marked the first day that I got access to my computer lab. I have seven working computers, all Celeron 997 hrz, with either 256 or 512 mb of RAM. Six are running Windows XP, and one is running… wait for it… Ubuntu! Sorry for the techno-bable, but I think a couple of you might appreciate it. There’s also one machine I couldn’t get started and a pile of parts for me to work with. There’s also a router and cabling set up, but it doesn’t look like they’re networked as of yet. I’ll have the rest of January to futz around with it. After a conversation with my pule (Samoan for boss/principal) we decided that I’ll be teaching two computer classes, for junior and senior year, and an upper level science class, to be determined.

I don’t know what else to say, so here’s some pictures from New Year’s on Savai’i:

2 Responses to “Transition”

  1. mama said

    what is Apolima? another island? Is the sea choppy like when we were going to St. Barts?

    • igorpop said

      Apolima is another island. Its really small, and halfway between the main islands of Upolu and Savaii. There’s another island there called Manono, which is bigger than Apolima, but still small compared to the other two.

      The Sea is not nearly as choppy as the St. Barts boat.

Leave a Reply

 
