Pirate Blog — Toa Samoa

Tracking my Peace Corps Adventures in Western Samoa

Back in Apia

Posted by Igor Popstefanija on October 28, 2008

So we spent a week in the village, but it feels more like a month. My host family is great. Check out the pictures below.

This week I’ll be shadowing a current volunteer, so I’ll get some kind of idea of what I’ll be doing for the next two years. I’m kind of excited about it. I’m still living out of a suitcase and back and forth from the village and town, so I don’t think its a good idea to send any packages yet. Also peanut butter is availible in apia. I think its more likely that’ll need some reading material (scifi books) and dvds (religerous when it comes out maybe).

Food wise, my family kept me away from too much fish. I did try some oka though, which is raw fish marinated in coconut juices. It was pretty tasty. I also had eel, wich tasted like fish. Mostly though it was taro and fried chicken. Taro is kinda like a potato, but I like it way better. We went to the planation where my samoan family grows the taro on saturday, it was a great experience.

2 Responses to “Back in Apia”

  1. Bethany said

    Hi Igor – love the pics. The food looks yummy! What’s the weather like there? What have you been doing there? We miss you at ProSensing. Glad things look like they’re going well for you.

  2. Susan said

    Does Amazon deliver to Samoa?

    Do Samoan libraries have English books?

    If Santa is bringing scifi, you had better write to the North Pole soon. What authors? Specific titles?

    I’m guessing book covers with big-chested scantily clad women are somewhat frowned upon; fear not, I will redecorate them as necessary.

Leave a Reply

 
